top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia MacDavid

Green Eyes By JOSEPH

Hello everybody!


In today’s post I will be talking about the awesome band JOSEPH. So, I first discovered JOSEPH on my Spotify discover weekly playlist back in February of this year. On the playlist was the song Green Eyes which is off of their most recent album Good Luck, Kid. I fell in love with this song right away, and immediately became a fan of the rest of their music. Before I go into the review about the song, let me go over JOSEPH’s background.

JOSEPH is made up of three sisters from Portland, Oregon. Natalie Closner Schepman, and twins Meegan Closner and Allison Closner. The band was named after the town, Joseph, OR, where they often camped, as well as after their grandfather, Jo.

The band has three studio albums, Native Dreamer Kin (2014), I’m Alone, No You’re Not (2016), and Good Luck, Kid (2019). They have three EP albums as well: ATO Records Sessions (2015), Stay Awake (2017), and Trio Sessions Vol. 1 (2020). In my opinion I feel that all their music before 2019 was more folk music, which is what they are known for, but after their most recent album they took a turn into more of a pop rock genre. JOSEPH has proven their versatility in creating music from both genres. Their harmonies blend beautifully into their folk music, and their strong voices add another element toward their pop rock genre. More than anything, their harmonies seem to stand out the most for both styles of music.

Alright, now to the song review for Green Eyes. I love how the song starts off with Meegan singing with a little electric guitar in the background. More musical elements are added, such as the drums and vocals, as the song builds. By the time the pre-chorus comes along the rhythm in the vocals becomes more syncopated and drives into the chorus where the whole band comes in. The chorus is killer! I love the imagery of the lyrics and the intensity of the music. After every chorus line the keyboard comes in and the riffs push the song forward. Moving on to the bridge, the structure is simple: three lines being repeated four times. It starts off quietly with vocals, guitar and bass drum. As each line is repeated more of the drum set is added and the vocals crescendo into the final chorus. The band fades into the background as Meegan’s vocals become the main focus; this part of the song shows her amazing range as a vocalist.

Overall I absolutely love this song. I have it on repeat all the time, and whenever I play it on road trips I need everyone in the car to be quiet so I can fully appreciate it.







Author: Lydia MacDavid

Chief Editor: Jacob Tomeny

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Facebook

©2021 by Lydia's Girls. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page