top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia MacDavid

Nicer- Katelyn Tarver

Hello everybody, and welcome back to another blog post. Today I will be discussing singer/songwriter Katelyn Tarver. I first discovered Katelyn’s music a few years ago on my Spotify Discover Weekly Playlist, but I’ve known about her for years because she starred in the Nickelodeon TV series Big Time Rush. Unfortunately, there aren’t many details about Katelyn’s childhood besides being born in Glennville, Georgia. Although looking back on some of her childhood pictures, you can tell that she has always loved the arts. In 2003, she starred in the singing competition show American Juniors. She could make it to the final top ten before being eliminated. In 2011 she released an independent EP called: A Little More Free, produced by Matt Grabe. She went on to tour with bands and co-wrote a song with Cheryl Cole called: Crazy Stupid Love. She has released two more EP albums: Tired Eyes in 2017 and Kool Aid in 2018. This past year she released a full album called: Subject To Change. Along with her musical career, Katelyn has also done a lot of acting, such as Big Time Rush (As I stated before), No Ordinary Family, The Secret Life of the American Teenager, Dead on Campus, Famous in Love, Babysitter’s Nightmare, Ballers, Songland, and Twentyfiveish.

Today I will be reviewing one of Katelyn’s songs, Nicer, from her most recent album. This album is raw and truthful, which is a quality that I love about Katelyn’s music in general. This song was written by Katelyn Tarver, Davis Nash, and Annika Bennett (I am also a big fan of her music). The lyrics highlight this song, “I used to be nicer. I was the girl who’d do anything. To make everyone like her, that shit makes you tired. I used to say sorry. It wasn’t worth all the arguing. I’d let somebody rob me, and then I’d buy ‘em a coffee.” When I was little, I was the same way, which is why I love Katelyn’s writing. It comes from real emotions that almost everyone experiences. My favorite line is the chorus: “Look at all the time and energy I’ve wasted. Feels like overnight; I forgot how to fake it. If it’s on my mind now, I don’t try and change it. ‘Cause, look at all this time and energy I’ve wasted.” Trying to make everyone happy is mentally and physically draining. When you get over that state of mind, it’s unbelievable that you were even able to worry that much about something so ridiculous. I think that feeling is perfectly summed up in the second verse. “I used to be sweeter. Biting my tongue when I disagreed like if I was meaner, the people I love would see me differently.” That last line is the crucial point in that emotion. When you think that way, standing up for yourself or even disagreeing with another person is mean, which isn’t true. I believe it is essential that artists write songs about challenging situations because people need to know that they are not the only ones feeling this way. I wish I had heard this song when I was younger because then maybe I wouldn’t have wasted time and energy. But I am happy that kids today have this song, so it deserves more attention. I put a link below so you can listen to this song and all the other Lydia’s Girls blog post songs on Spotify.





18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page