top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia MacDavid

Bluebird- Miranda Lambert

Hello everyone, and welcome back to another blog post! Today I will be talking about one of the biggest artists in country music, Miranda Lambert. Born and raised in Texas, Miranda has been in the music business since she was young. When she was only sixteen she was featured on the Johnnie High Country Music Revue, a variety show which was on television every week. Leann Rimes also appeared on the show and people have said it greatly contributed to her music career. After appearing on the show, Miranda went to Nashville to get recorded. Although this was a big step in her career, Miranda did not like how Nashville’s music had a “pop” sound to it. So she went back to Texas and asked her Dad to teach her to play guitar. This way she could write her own songs and get the sound she wanted. In 2003 Miranda entered a talent competition called Nashville Star and won third place. This got the attention of a Sony Music executive and also one of the judges from the show, Tracey Gershon, who convinced the label to sign her to Epic Records. Since then Miranda has been nothing but successful, being nominated and winning various music awards including three Grammy Awards and the ACM award for female vocalist nine years in a row!

Today I will be talking about Miranda’s single Bluebird (Acoustic). It was written by Miranda, Luke Dick, and Natalie Hemby. Miranda has said that this song is about having hope through rough times. She says that it was inspired by a poem also named Bluebird by Charles Bukowski that had the line, “There’s a bluebird in my heart that wants to get out.” Today I am sharing the acoustic version just because I personally like it more, but there is no shade on the original; I’m just an acoustic kind of girl. I love the vibe this song gives! It sounds haunted and dark but the lyrics have so much hope to them, and this is the message Miranda is trying to get across. Even when you are at your worst times there will always be a shimmer of hope. I think the intro is so cool because Miranda does a vocal part that sounds like a bird singing. This just ties the whole song together. I also like how each verse has a different theme. For example: “I’m a turner, I turn pages all the time. Don’t like where I’m at, 34 was bad so I just turned 35.” Then in the second verse she sings: “I’m a keeper.” Third verse: “Well, I’m a giver.” And fourth verse: “Yeah, I’m a rhymer.” These verses show the different parts of what she is made up of. Of course the chorus is killer: “And if the house just keeps on winning I got a wildcard up my sleeve. And if love keeps giving me lemons, I’ll just mix ‘em in my drink. And if the whole wide world stops singing and all the stars go dark. I’ll keep a light on in my soul, keep a bluebird in my heart.” Ok, let me break this chorus down for a second. I feel that this first line has to do with the music business. Side note: I could be reading into things too much, but I just feel like “the house” in the song is country music (which is dominated by men for whatever reason) and then Miranda’s music is the “wildcard”. She mixes things up, because she’s going to fight for what she deserves. The next line with the lemons is so great because I can just picture Miranda laying out in the sun with her shades on, sipping her drink with lemons. It’s a perfect Miranda line. And last but not least my favorite line: “And if the whole wide world stops singing and all the stars go dark. I’ll keep a light on in my soul, keep a bluebird in my heart.” I just think that line is so beautiful and has so much meaning for music lovers. This is because music gives us love and hope, and if everything goes wrong with the world, at least we still have music.

I hope you enjoyed this post! Please comment below with any recommendations of female artists you would like to see here. Or if you are an artist let me know if you would like to be featured on here too!


























Author: Lydia MacDavid

Chief Editor: Jacob Tomeny

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page