top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia MacDavid

Those Dancing Days- I'll Be Yours

Hello everyone, and welcome back to another blog post! Today I will be discussing the Stockholm band: Those Dancing Days. Unfortunately, there is not much information about the band, so the background part of the blog may seem short. I first discovered Those Dancing Days when I watched the 2011 Disney movie, Prom. Those Dancing Days has their song, I’ll Be Yours, featured at the movie's beginning. I looked up the rest of their music and instantly fell in love with them.

Those Dancing Days consist of five members: Linnea Jönsson (Vocals), Lisa Pyk (Hammond Organ/Keyboard), Rebecka Rolfart (Electric Guitar), Mimmi Evrell (Bass), and Cissi Efraimsson (Drums). Their band name comes from the Led Zeppelin song, Dancing Days. When the band was first formed, all of the band members were still teenagers and were attending school. The band started to become popular in 2007 after signing with Witchita Records and working with music producer Max Martin. Although they enjoyed the experience of working with Max, they ultimately decided they liked writing their own songs (Cragg). Those Dancing Days released a self-titled EP in 2007 followed by two more albums: In Our Space Hero Suits (2008) and Daydreams & Nightmares (2011). The band is currently taking a hiatus as of 2011, but I am hoping the band will one day come back together! Linnea has recently released her single called Krossad. Lisa, Rebecka, and Cissi formed a new band called Vulkano and released a new single called Fantasy vs. Reality. Cissi is also a director, animator, and artist, and Lisa designs clothing. Unfortunately, I cannot find anything about Mimmi.

Today I will be reviewing one of my favorite songs by Those Dancing Days: I’ll Be Yours. The song begins with a quick drum intro by Cissi, Rebecka on guitar, and Mimmi on the bass. Linnea comes in with her beautiful alto voice that pairs very well with the bass. By the end of the first verse you can hear Lisa come in on her keyboard. Transitioning into the chorus Cissi does a great job amping up the rhythm. It is definitely one of those head-banging songs with all the instruments jamming together. You can hear more harmonizing vocals, which is a nice addition to strengthen the chorus. The lyrics are also so original! The song does not come right out and say ‘I love you”, but instead they say “I’ll be yours and your mine. And I’ll be your friend, let’s stay to the end. I’ll never stop loving you.” The lyrics in the second verse are fantastic as well: “Capture me in your arms, wrap your soul around me. Never felt so free, please stay close to me. Lie on the clouds and we’re kissing the sky. Raindrops are falling but we’re staying dry. And I’ll be holding on. I’ll be holding on.” These lyrics are just so incredible to me; I’m not sure if it’s because English is their second language but I feel like the band chooses words or phrases you might not commonly hear in the English language. After the second chorus there is a brief instrumental bridge with a calming keyboard solo, which then begins to build as the guitar comes in. This builds up to the climax of the song which transitions into the final chorus. In the background you can hear the girls screaming to add some fun vocals. All of the instruments and vocals make this such an entertaining song to listen to! I also recommend watching the music video for this song. It is fun watching the girls hanging out with their loved ones and seeing different snapshots of their lives. I will put the video in the Youtube link below.

I hope you have all enjoyed today’s blog post. Those Dancing Days is definitely a great band that needs more attention in the US. Hopefully they will come back together to make some more great music.


Links to Lydia’s Girls Playlist:



Chief Editor: Jacob Tomeny



Sources

Cragg, Posted by Michael. “An Interview with Linnea from Those Dancing Days.” MAXOPEDIA, 30 Aug. 2016, https://maxopedia.co/2016/08/30/an-interview-with-linnea-from-those-dancing-days/.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Facebook

©2021 by Lydia's Girls. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page