top of page
  • Writer's pictureLydia MacDavid

Bubbly- Colbie Caillat

Hello everyone, and welcome back to another blog post! I'm sorry it has been a while since my last post. I have enjoyed summer traveling a bit, but now I am back to my regular schedule. Today I will be writing about Colbie Caillat, who is celebrating the 15th anniversary of her first studio album, Coco. I first heard of Colbie when she released the song Bubbly, but I started listening to her music more when my dad recommended her song Falling For You. Colbie's father was a co-producer for the Fleetwood Mac albums Rumours, Tusk, and Mirage. Colbie took piano lessons when she was young. However, her interest in music didn't really develop until she watched Lauryn Hill's performance in Sister Acts 2. Afterwards, she decided that she wanted to become a singer and started taking voice lessons. At 19, Colbie learned to play guitar. She met with producer Mikal Blue who helped her record her songs. Colbie auditioned for American Idol twice but never made it to the judges. She later told USA Today, "I was shy. I was nervous. I didn't look the greatest. I wasn't ready for it yet. I was glad, when I auditioned, that they said no." Although she didn't succeed with American Idol, her page on MySpace became popular and went number one for an unsigned artist for four months. On July 10, 2007, Colbie released her first album, Coco. The album was named after the childhood nickname her parents gave her. The album was such a massive success that it reached Platinum and received many awards, including BMI Pop Awards for Song of The Year (Bubbly) and Songwriter of the year. In 2009, Colbie was featured on the Grammy-winning song Lucky, by Jason Mraz, and released her second album, Breakthrough (Which is my favorite album she has done so far). Since 2011, she has released the albums: All Of You (2011), a Christmas album called Christmas In the Sand (2012), Gypsy Heart (2014), and The Malibu Sessions (2016).

In honor of the 15th anniversary of her first studio album, I have decided to write about Colbie's hit song, Bubbly. This song takes me back to when I would go over to my friend's house, and we would listen to this song on the music channel on her TV. I also remember her brother playing it on his keyboard, and he would get so frustrated when he messed up the chords. However, I was so impressed by his singing voice. Anyways, I love this song not only because of how beautiful it is but because of the memories I have of it.

The song starts with a soft acoustic guitar and keyboard, which gives off a very relaxing ocean beach feel. Colbie's alto voice sounds so smooth and blends so perfectly with the instruments. When she starts to sing the chorus, it is impossible not to sing along. I like how when the bass and drums start playing, it gives your ears something new to listen to. Colbie keeps the verses short and sweet so you can return to that ear candy chorus. The bridge is also very short but does a great job of switching up the chords to bring something new to the song.

Overall this song is a 10/10 for me. I've put it in the links below if you haven't heard it, and want to check it out. Thank you for reading this week's blog and please feel free to reach out if you would like to learn about a certain artist.














Chief Editor: Jacob Tomeny

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page